Landscapes, Points of View and Perspectives, Looking into Bear Lake

May 21, 2013: It has been a long time since I painted a landscape picture and I thought I would do some practicing.

Looking into Bear Lake, watercolor landscape, Mary Champagne, One Chickadee

Looking into Bear Lake, watercolor landscape, Mary Champagne, One Chickadee

I was working on the watercolor landscape this weekend. It has a little more work to go, but it is shaping into a dock that precedes marsh grasses that looks into a pond. I did this while listening to Orwell’s Animal Farm on an audio book. While painting, I got to thinking about landscapes, points of view and perspectives. Painters like authors interpret what they see, what is there, what should be there, possibly try to communicate a feeling and so on. I was working from a picture that I had taken of Bear Lake in the U.P of Michigan by Mclaine State Park. I had to add details that were washed out in the picture. I simplified those things that I didn’t want the viewer to focus on, and I worked to add a sense of depth using color and point of view perspectives. It is in fact an interpretation of what was really there. How many times do I do this in life? Simplifying the details to understand a bigger picture? But then what is being left out and was it important to the interpretation? All things to consider for the next landscape.

2 thoughts on “Landscapes, Points of View and Perspectives, Looking into Bear Lake

Leave a Reply

