Waiting in the Rain.

May 1, 2013: Yesterday, I was sitting in the car waiting while it rained, hard. When I realized I could be waiting a long time, I was glad that I had brought my bag with me. I pulled out my watercolors and small book of papers. I put a container outside my window and collected rainwater while I flipped through an old Birds and Bloom magazine. While looking for inspiration, my thoughts kept returning to spring; I had decided to paint a robin’s nest. Shortly before finishing the small work, the rain had stopped and the sun had come out. I allowed the work to dry briefly before replacing it in my bag and leaving the car for a walk. After I had returned home not wanting to do much of anything before bed, I worked on a couple of small watercolor pieces. It was an evening best spent with a glass of wine followed up with a short story by J. D. Salinger. I awoke at 4:30 a.m. this morning to the call of the birds singing outside. Deciding it was too early to be awake yet myself, I went to bed.

Robin's Nest in watercolor, Mary Champagne

Robin’s Nest, watercolor, Mary Champagne

Uncertain Bluebird Landing in watercolor, Mary Champagne

Uncertain Bluebird Landing, watercolor, Mary Champagne

Late night visitor in watercolor, Mary Champagne

Late night visitor, watercolor, Mary Champagne

Leave a Reply

