Back to fun!

Nov. 6, 2012: I went out with my daughter today. We simply needed a day out. She has been recovering from a recent procedure and everything in our lives has been put on pause while we were taking care of her health. It felt like the fun had been put on pause too, so we took an evening out. She and I went to the Antic Warehouse where they have many fun furnishings, and antic wares that can consume hours and entertain our imaginations for days. Together we made a few selections, old hand pieced quilt blocks, a child’s mini muffin tin, and an American gold finch wall sconce, a treasure that we found at the end of our looksee.  Upon careful examination it had a couple of chips, but for the last chance clearance pile, it was a treasure to behold. Not asking a premium, we have brought it home and will think on warmer days when the gold finches will return.

While watching the election unfold I was filled with the excitement that I think many Americans feel as the democratic process is put into action. Beer in hand, I watched the states on the television light up blue and red. After a couple of hours and feeling spent from the drama that was unfolding, I turned my attention to sketching. I call it, bird and a bee.

DSC05650

bird and a bee, one chickadee, Mary Champagne

Leave a Reply

